Highway Construction Materials Technician Certification Board Meeting Minutes

October 28, 2009

Meeting was announced by posting at the ODOT Training Center and on the internet web site at http://oktechcert.org/Meetings.

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM by Reynolds Toney. The following members/guests were present.

MEMBERS

Reynolds Toney ODOT George Raymond ODOT

Craig Parker Silver Star Construction

Shawn Davis ODOT

John Privrat Duit construction

Tammy Robinson OTA

Rich Horrocks Manhattan Road & Bridge Larry Patrick Jacobs Engineering Group

GUESTS

Connie Rozean-Pruitt OAPA
Brent Burwell ACPA

TRAINING CENTER STAFF

Steve Sawyer Program Director

Karla Irvin Administrative Assistant

- 1. Reynolds Toney determined that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order.
- 2. Motion to approve minutes of July 29, 2010 made by Craig Parker, seconded by Tammy Robinson. Approved unanimously.
- 3. The Program Director reported that;
 - a. Most scheduled QC/QA courses were full. Construction Inspection courses appeared to have sufficient interest to hold. Danny Gierhart will instruct/evaluate the Asphalt Mix Design modules this FY and Ken Hobson will take over next FY. About 500 current enrollments and as many as 200 more expected.
 - b. The Asphalt Construction Inspector training class was full and a waiting list is growing. After a brief discussion, it was decided that a date would be set for the second class.

- c. The training videos will be in a "how to" format detailing the procedures based upon the key elements used in the certification modules. Each DVD will contain chapters for each procedure with sub-chapters.
- d. Several on-line training courses are available from the TCCC at the NHI web site. The TCCC modules are free of charge and materials are also free to download. The Program Director will put information about these courses on the Board web site.
- e. Equipment acquisitions this year will include the camera system for the lab and classroom 2 as well as a new compression machine.
- 4. Larry Patrick made a motion to approve the final draft of the Evaluator Qualification Criteria Guidelines. Seconded by Tammy Robinson. Approved unanimously.
- 5. Tammy Robinson, Larry Patrick, Reynolds Toney, and Steve Sawyer were nominated to serve on the Evaluator Qualification Committee. Motion to approve by Shawn Davis. Seconded by Rich Horrocks. Approved unanimously.
- 6. Meeting Dates for CY 2010 were set for January 27, April 28, July 28, and October 27.
- 7. Meeting adjourned.